Target Racing Program Reaches 100 Wins in Pocono

MINNEAPOLIS - July 7, 2013

Scott Dixon Propels Target Racing to Landmark Victory

The Target Racing Program, which began with Target and Chip Ganassi Racing in 1990, reached the 100-win mark today in Pocono with Scott Dixon’s win at Pocono Raceway.  The first win for the program came in 1994 with Michael Andretti’s Indy car victory at Surfers Paradise, Australia when the team was just a two-car open wheel program.  Ninety nine wins later, the program’s umbrella includes involvement in not only in the IZOD IndyCar Series, but in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series.  The partnership between Target and Chip Ganassi Racing is one of the longest consecutive team partnerships in motor racing history. 

Notes of Interest:

100 Target Wins by the numbers

  • All 100 wins in partnership with Chip Ganassi Racing
  • 90 wins in Target-sponsored Indy cars
    • 46 on ovals
    • 23 on street courses
    • 21 on road courses
  • 5 wins in Target-sponsored sports cars (Daytona Prototype category)
    • All five wins in the prestigious Rolex 24 At Daytona (2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2013)
  • 5 wins in Target-sponsored stock cars
    • Juan Pablo Montoya first took Target to a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory lane in 2010
    • Casey Mears (3 – 2003) and Reed Sorenson (1 – 2004) led Target-sponsored ARCA cars to victory
  • Of the nine total championships (INDYCAR), Dario Franchitti has the most with three (2009, 2010, 2011), followed by  Dixon (2003, 2008) and Alex Zanardi (1997, 1998), Juan Pablo Montoya (1999) and Jimmy Vasser (1996)
  • There has been one stretch of six consecutive wins [in Indy car racing] (1998 - Zanardi and Vasser), four stretches of three-consecutive wins (1997 – Zanardi, 1999 – Montoya, 1999 – Montoya, 2007 – Dixon), and 18 times where the team has won back-to-back races in Target cars
  • Montoya is the only driver in the program to score wins in Indy cars, sports cars and stock cars
  • 32 drivers have participated in the Target race program, including: Michael Andretti, Kenny Brack, Ryan Briscoe, Eddie Cheever, Scott Dixon, Salvador Duran, Dario Franchitti, Memo Gidley, Robby Gordon, Mauricio Gugelmin, Joey Hand, Bryan Herta, Bruno Junqueira, Charlie Kimball, Jaques Lazier, Arie Luyendyk, Darren Manning, Casey Mears, Nicolas Minassian, Juan Pablo Montoya, Giorgio Pantano, Scott Pruett, Graham Rahal, Memo Rojas, Tomas Scheckter, Reed Sorenson, Jimmy Spencer, Tony Stewart, Jimmy Vasser, Jeff Ward, Dan Wheldon, Alex Zanardi
  • Overall Chip Ganassi Racing Team’s has 153 wins

Quote Board:

Chip Ganassi, Owner, Chip Ganassi Racing

“As one of the longest consecutive team partnerships in motor racing history, we’re thrilled to celebrate this 100th win with Target.  We’re looking forward to the next 100 wins.”

Mark Schindele, Senior Vice President - Merchandising Operations, Target:  

“Our 24-year-long partnership and 100 racing wins with Chip Ganassi Racing is truly a remarkable milestone.  It’s just another finish line we’ve crossed together!”

About Chip Ganassi Racing

Chip Ganassi has been a fixture in the auto racing industry for over 25 years and is considered one of the most successful as well as innovative owners the sport has anywhere in the world.  Today his teams include three cars in the IZOD IndyCar Series, two cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, and one Daytona Prototype in the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series.  Overall his teams have 15 championships and over 150 victories, including four Indianapolis 500s, a Daytona 500, a Brickyard 400 and five Rolex 24 At Daytonas.  Ganassi boasts state-of-the-art race shop facilities in Indianapolis and Brownsburg, Ind. and Concord, N.C., with a corporate office in Pittsburgh, Penn.

For more information log onto

multimedia downloads

Press resources

Media hotline

We strive to return all of our media inquiries within one business day.

1 (612) 696-3400

Stay informed

Target rss feeds

Guest relations

Visit Target Help