Franchitti Claims Victory at Chicagoland, Dixon Eighth

MINNEAPOLIS - August 30, 2010
Results from Chicagoland Speedway  
        1.    Dario Franchitti, No. 10 Breathe Right Hond
        2.    Dan Wheldon, No. 4 Honda
        3.    Marco Andretti, No. 26 Hond
        8.    Scott Dixon, No. 9 Target Honda
Target Chip Ganassi Racing (TCGR) had another strong finish at the Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil Indy 300 Saturday night with Dario Franchitti scoring his third victory of the season and Target Teammate Scott Dixon finishing eighth.
The win gave Chip Ganassi Race Teams, Inc. its 16th victory of 2010, as Ganassi drivers Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas claimed the team’s 15th victory at Montreal earlier in the day to win their eighth GRAND-AM Rolex Series race. The GRAND-AM victory broke the previous Chip Ganassi Racing Teams Inc. record of 14 wins in a single season from 2009.
Franchitti lined up second on the grid and ran in the top-five for the first half of the race. After a lap 173 caution, the team pitted Franchitti from seventh and grabbed the lead after a strategic fuel-only pit stop. The call proved to be a winner as the team would lead every remaining lap of the 200-lap race.
Dixon lined-up 15th on the grid and passed his way into the top-five by just lap 65. He ran in the top-five throughout the better part of the race until a lapped car forced him into contact with the No.11 car. He would re-group to finish eighth.
-       The win was TCGR’s second at Chicagoland (2006), 39th win in the IZOD IndyCar Series and 79th in Indy car racing.
-       The win was the 131st for Chip Ganassi Racing Teams, Inc.
-       This was Franchitti’s third victory of the season (Indianapolis, Mid-Ohio).
-       Franchitti’s first-place finish marked his sixth consecutive top-three of 2010.
-       The win was Dario Franchitti’s 26th in Indy car racing and his 16th in the IZOD IndyCar Series.
-       It was Franchitti’s second win at Chicagoland. Starting from the pole he led 10 laps en route to victory in 2007.
-       The win as TCGR’s 16th at 1.5-mile tracks (Chicagoland: 2006, 2010; Homestead: 1996, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009; Kansas: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010; Kentucky: 2008; Motegi: 2002, 2009; Texas: 2002).
-       Of TCGR’s 39 wins in the IZOD IndyCar Series, 27 have come on ovals (69%).
-       Since 2008, TCGR has won 16 of the last 26 oval events run in the IZOD IndyCar Series.
-       The eighth-place finish marked Dixon’s seventh top-five finish in eight races at Chicagoland.
With the finish, Franchitti remains second in the championship with 505 points, gaining 36 points on leader Will Power (just 23 points out of the top spot). Dixon remains third in the championship with 443points, 85 points out of the top spot.
Up next for Team Target is Round 15 of the IZOD IndyCar Series at Kentucky Speedway for the Kentucky 300, September 4 (8:00 p.m. ET on VERSUS).
TCGR Quoteboard:
Dario Franchitti: “It’s good to have Floyd (Ganassi) back at the track. He hasn’t been here for a while but as usual, he brought us luck tonight. We were struggling tonight with the Breathe Right car really in traffic as we got a little further back there. A lot of crazy stuff going on. I was just more comfortable up high. That last stop was the key to this race. Chris Simmons, turns out he was the one that made the call. We had a lot of faith in the Firestone tires. He said leave the tires on and got us out front. Dan Wheldon, he was just pushing me all the time, just helping me. I was giving him room at the bottom. We were working together very, very well there. So between him and Scott Dixon pushing me around all night. This Team Target is amazing.” 
About Target Chip Ganassi Racing (TCGR) 
Target Chip Ganassi Racing is the reigning Indianapolis 500 Winner and two-time reigning IZOD IndyCar Series Champion. Chip Ganassi created his own one-car IndyCar team in 1990 and established a partnership with sponsor, Target. Today, Target Chip Ganassi Racing includes two entries in the IZOD IndyCar Series for 2008/2003 Champion and 2008 Indianapolis 500 Winner Scott Dixon, and 2009/2007 Champion and 2010/2007 Indianapolis 500 Winner Dario Franchitti. Target Chip Ganassi Racing has collected seven Championships and 79 wins since 1994 and operates out of a state-of-the-art race shop facility in Indianapolis, with a corporate office in Pittsburgh.
For more information log onto


press resources

media hotline

We strive to return all of our media inquiries within one business day.

1 (612) 696-3400

stay informed

Target rss feeds

guest relations

visit Target Help